Reflection & Gratitude

home-stretch

Written by: Career Advising Fellow, Katie Greene

I can hardly believe the fellowship will be ending in five short weeks. It feels like just yesterday I was being offered the fellowship and planning my move to NC. Now, I’m happy to share that we’ve hired two new fellows for the 2017-2018 academic year, who we’ll be introducing on this blog in the coming weeks. In the meantime, please allow me to reminisce a bit about this fellowship journey, which has been an incredible experience for me both personally and professionally.

This fellowship has afforded me the opportunity to embrace a professional role within higher education, which has served as a necessary bridge between my desire to contribute to higher education to advancing my career. During this fellowship I have been able to clarify the vision of my professional trajectory, through embracing some experiential learning (which is big here at Elon) with John Krumboltz’s Happenstance Theory. This theory emphasizes the importance of engaging the unknown or the non-linear journey toward clarifying our career path. Those who embrace this theory are encouraged to try new things and say “yes” to new opportunities for growth. This allows us to capitalize on our experiences as a way to continually clarify our career interests and values, while gaining increased skills along the way.

As I enter the ‘home stretch’ of this fellowship, I am compelled to ask myself if I’ve run this race well. In reflecting on this past academic year, do I notice areas in which I said “yes” to new professional experiences both within the SPDC and connected to other spaces on campus? At the end of this race, can I point to the markers that define my growth and resilience, through which I’m better prepared for my next professional endeavors? I am pleased to state that I believe I can respond positively to each of these questions in which I can point to my professional growth.

It is imperative to mention that my supervisor, Mr. Ross Wade, is an integral factor in supporting the experiential nature of this fellowship. His leadership is focused on cultivating the fellows’ strengths and encouraging fellows to engage their skills in unique and creative ways, understanding that career advising and professional development can occur in a myriad of ways and in a variety of venues. I can state without hesitation that this fellowship has been a truly rewarding and beneficial experience for me professionally, for which I will always be grateful. Thank you, Ross. And, thank you to the entire SPDC staff. The cohesive nature of this office, and the genuine care and concern for our individual and collective goals is quite remarkable. It has been a privilege working with you throughout this fellowship, and I am grateful to have five more weeks with y’all. : )

Indeed, great personal growth has occurred for me. This, in large part, is due to my amazing friendship with my co-fellow, Leo Hall. Though not a requirement, it nevertheless seems to be the case that with each new fellowship year, the two career advising fellows get along extremely well. In fact, one former fellow will be a bridesmaid in her co-fellow’s wedding this July! I, of course, had hoped my co-fellow, Leo, and I would get along, but I did not expect the true sisterhood bond that we have forged. We’ve been blessed with a friendship that is akin to sisterhood. The silly inside jokes, the late night laughter, empathic listening, and the rare disagreements that lead to apologies and forgiveness, have all helped me become a better person and a better friend.

Being a fellow has been like riding in the front cart of a roller coaster, eagerly anticipating each portion of the journey. Yet being co-fellows with you, Leo, has been like choosing to dare the ride in the back cart with our arms boldly in the air, where the journey is always exhilarating! Thank you, dear friend. Here’s to ‘Kleo!’

We look forward to introducing the new fellows in May, and providing our parting thoughts to the incoming fellows at that time.

Thank you.

Katie

Leave a Reply

