Perks of a Partnership

By: Amber McCraw, Career Advising Fellow

As someone who enjoys working with other people, one of the things that I have most enjoyed about the fellowship thus far is that it is a joint effort between Danielle, Kristen, and I. It was one of the characteristics that initially drew me to this position. Why, you may ask?

In a society that values individual contributions, achievements, and accomplishments, I think we sometimes forget about the value of teamwork and partnerships. Below are some of the perks that I’ve experienced:

  • Diversity of strengths and experiences: Each of us has our own unique experiences and strengths. When we are working, we’ve learned that three heads (and sets of hands) are better than one. There are 3 of us to split up the work, 3 of us to brainstorm ideas, and 3 of us to bring those ideas to fruition. The diversity in our experiences, ideas, and strengths allow us to have a larger impact on the students around us.
  • Source of affirmation, accountability, and advice: My teammates have been a constant source of affirmation, accountability, and advice. After a long week of work when I’ve felt exhausted, my teammates have reminded me of why I love my work and the impact it has on others.  Similarly, they are around to bounce ideas off of and to offer advice when I am facing a challenge in my work. Lastly, we hold each other accountable. By this, I mean that we remind each other of deadlines and assignments, but more so, we remind each other to make time for ourselves and to take a break when it’s needed for work/life balance.
  • Opportunities for education: Danielle, Kristen and I came to this position with different backgrounds: Danielle in Counseling, Kristen in International Work, and myself in Student Affairs.  As a result, we process information through different lenses, have varied interests, and can teach each other along the way. Similarly, we are each focused on different topics, projects, and student populations on campus. In this respect, we can reach out to each other with questions concerning those areas and I have the opportunity to constantly educate myself because of the people around me.
  • Friends to share the journey with! Danielle and Kristen have become two people that I am thrilled to call genuine friends in a professional setting, but also in a personal and social setting. The three of us were new to the Elon area and new to the field of Career Services at the beginning of this fellowship. Together, we are exploring the Elon/Burlington area where we reside, making friends across campus, navigating the nuances of a completely new experience, and creating memories along the way!

I see and understand the value in partnering with others in the work environment as it has been a tremendous benefit throughout this fellowship. Find ways to partner with others in your work – you may be pleasantly surprised by the results.

 

Danielle, Kristen, and I promoting the Student Professional Development Center at the Fall Organization Fair.

Danielle, Kristen, and I promoting the Student Professional Development Center at the Fall Organization Fair.

 

About Amber McCraw

Amber McCraw serves as a the Assistant Director of Career Services for the School of Communications. Previously, she served as a Career Advising fellow for the 2014-2015 academic year. Before arriving at Elon, she earned an M. Ed. in College Student Affairs Administration from the University of Georgia where she worked in Residence Life. Prior to UGA, Amber attended NC State, leaving with a B.S. in Business Administration and a B.A. in Psychology. As an advisor, she works with students from all majors to help them set and reach their career goals. This includes working with students to update their resumes, practice their interviewing skills, develop their professional brand via LinkedIn, and provide them with resources for the internship and job search.

Leave a Reply

