Fellows Update: What happened to the Fellows 1.0?

By Marianne Brigola, Assistant Director of Career Services for the School of Communications, Career Fellow 2011-2012

Here are Elon, we are in the midst of Planning Week. Students arrive move in on Friday and the Fall 2013 semester officially starts next Tuesday.  Soon, our new Career Fellows, Rayna Anderson + Danielle Garrison will be updating this blog weekly. Before they start though, some of you might be wondering where the previous fellows have gone on to work. As you can see in previous entries, Katie Smith has started at Duke University, down the road in Durham, NC, as an Assistant Director of Career Services for STEM students. Mikkie Hornstein returned to Vanderbilt University as a Study Abroad Advisor in the Global Education Office. But what about Ashley Pinney and myself?

This past year, Ashley served as a Senior Career Fellow, working with Student Professional Development Center and Katie and Mikki to continue providing career development outreach programs and further developing the Career Fellows program.  After another summer as Internship Coordinator for Elon in NY and bridges in NY, Ashley recently started her new role as Senior Program Manager for at the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University. She is working with the MBA program there, and her position includes travel to Fuqua’s international locations, including China, South Africa, Russia, the Middle East and the UK.

After completing the Fellows Program, I accepted a position as a Career Counselor for the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, VA. I had the opportunity to experience working at a large, public institution (with an office in the football stadium!) and learned a great deal from my colleagues. As much as I enjoyed my time at U.Va., when I learned that the Student Professional Development Center at Elon had an opening for a career counselor for the School of Communications, I knew I couldn’t turn down the chance to return to such a great university and a great team! Just this past July, I returned to Elon as the Assistant Director of Career Services for the School of Communications, a role previously held by the fantastic genius behind the Fellows program, Ross Wade.

My new office in McEwen, home to the School of Communications from Under the Oaks

My new office in McEwen, home to the School of Communications from Under the Oaks

So, here we are–at the start of another school year, the 125th birthday of Elon University. Two years ago, I came to this campus as a Fellow, not quite sure what I was getting myself into, but confident that I would learn and develop as a professional. So, welcome to our new Fellows, Rayna + Danielle–I am so excited for the two of you and I can’t wait to see what impact you will have on the students of Elon and the Fellows program. Long live Elon!

Leave a Reply

