Has it really been 3 months already?

Created by: Ashley Pinney, 2011-2012 Career Counselor

As I was driving back to campus a couple ago  after an incredible Fall Break (thanks in part to President Lambert who gave staff Tuesday off), I realized it had been exactly 3 months since I starting working at Elon. WOW! Where has the time gone?! The sudden realization got me thinking…

Rodin's "The Thinker"

I inserted this image of Rodin’s “The Thinker” into my post for two reasons: 1) Like this sculpture, I sit sometimes in the same reflective state (haha)  2) It was exactly 3 years ago this month when I was in France visiting the Musée Rodin. What a whirlwind my life has been the past three years but for the purpose of this post, I’ll just focus on the last 3 months.

If you had told me a year ago that I would be working as a Career Counselor, I would have laughed. For the first half of last year I had wanted to be a study abroad adviser. After a few informational/exploratory interviews, though, I realized that I wouldn’t like that job. It was a lot different than what I thought it would be and I’m glad I conducted those meetings with professionals to find this out. I encourage the students I meet with to do the same. Those exploratory meetings are incredibly valuable and I have redirected my life path because of them.

I didn’t quite know what to expect as a career fellow. Luckily, I have a great boss, Ross Wade, that provided thorough training on everything career-related. He also trained me on how to talk with students, ask them questions, and learn about them as individuals. Graduate school gave me a great foundation for working with this emerging adult population but Elon has provided me with the specific skills I need to work with students on career-related topics. I have learned sooooo much from this position and it is only November. It feels great assisting students with their problems and questions. This position has been really great because it is a combination of everything I love doing: helping others (1 on 1 appointments, LSB drop-ins), teaching (transition strategy classes and LSB 275),  and meeting different people (presentations for Res Life, Greek life, Multicultural Office, Elon 101 classes, etc.)

Next semester I am teaching my own History Transition Strategies class; I am really looking forward to it! I spent two years after undergrad teaching abroad and I enjoy having my own class. It should make for a really positive experience! Who knows what the next 3 months will hold but if it is anything like the first 3 months, it is going to be a blast!

About Ashley Pinney

I am a Career Counseling Fellow at Elon University. The position is a post-graduate fellowship with an emphasis on providing career counseling services to students through individual meetings and co-facilitation of transition classes, as well as collaborating with residence life to develop career-related programing.

Leave a Reply

