Impromptu Career Advising

By: Ashley Pinney, 2011-2012 Career Advising Fellow

So I’m at the gym a couple of weeks ago, sweating profusely, wearing shorts and a tank-top, and my hair is in something that looks like a bun/bird’s nest on top of my head and one of my former students approaches me and we begin a conversation about her life direction, grad school decisions, etc. I’m flattered that this student likes me that much to stand so close to me despite me being disgusting. It was then I realized that these “impromptu career advising sessions” happen to me all the time.

The Top 5 Places Where Impromptu Career Advising Takes Place for me at Elon (in no particular order):

1. Women’s bathrooms  2. Parking Lots   3. The Gym   4. Old Trollinger (where Marianne and I live)  5. Acorn coffee shop

The whole campus is my office…

About Ashley Pinney

I am a Career Counseling Fellow at Elon University. The position is a post-graduate fellowship with an emphasis on providing career counseling services to students through individual meetings and co-facilitation of transition classes, as well as collaborating with residence life to develop career-related programing.

2 thoughts on “Impromptu Career Advising

Leave a Reply

