It’s All Greek to Me

Created By Ashley Pinney, 2011-2012 Career Advising Fellow

On Saturday I got the unique opportunity to  help out with sorority recruitment. I was never in a sorority at William and Mary and didn’t know much about the Office of Greek Life and I was curious to learn more about it. Plus, I think Shana Plasters and Eden Esters and really great student affairs professionals and I wanted to help them out.

The goal of Saturday afternoon was to be available to listen to women’s concerns and issues in regards to choosing a sorority. We couldn’t offer any advice but we were able to ask them a lot of questions to help them make  their own decision when it came to how they were going to pref. Some ladies came to my table full of excitement. Others came to my table crying. It was an emotional time for them. They were also exhausted from the 5 jam-packed days that preceded this moment. I really enjoyed the experience and listening to the ladies.

Elon Student Affairs Professionals

About Ashley Pinney

I am a Career Counseling Fellow at Elon University. The position is a post-graduate fellowship with an emphasis on providing career counseling services to students through individual meetings and co-facilitation of transition classes, as well as collaborating with residence life to develop career-related programing.

Leave a Reply

