Swapping my Slingbacks for Sneakers

By: Ashley Pinney, 2011-2012 Career Counseling Fellow

I chose to work in the field of higher education to make a lot of money. False.

I chose to work in the field of higher education because I love working with young adults. I love their energy and enthusiasm. They are curious and intellectual and working with them is a real pleasure. When Elon Outdoors asked me to be the staff advisor for their day hike to Pilot Mountain, I jumped on the opportunity. I like working in higher education (especially at a small institution like Elon) because I am able to interact with students in a variety of contexts. Spending the day with 18 students, hiking up a beautiful mountain, inserting career advice here and there in our conversations was a lot of fun and a really enjoyable experience. Talking with students outside of the office and getting to know them in an informal setting is a great way to build relationships. They asked me a lot of questions about what I do at Elon and I encouraged them to come see me in my office. Going on these types of trips with students is a good form of outreach and it is something I want to continue to do this year.

Me with Elon Outdoors!

What a lovely view

About Ashley Pinney

I am a Career Counseling Fellow at Elon University. The position is a post-graduate fellowship with an emphasis on providing career counseling services to students through individual meetings and co-facilitation of transition classes, as well as collaborating with residence life to develop career-related programing.

Leave a Reply

